Skip to main content

MCGA elects new county officers

LANSING, MI -- At its quarterly board meeting, the Michigan Corn Growers Association elected a new slate of officers to serve as leadership for the association.

Alvin Ferguson (Allenton) was elected as the president of the MCGA, replacing Scott Lonier (Lansing) who had come to the end of his term. Lonier will now serve as chairman of the MCGA board. Dan Cable (Maybee), who previously served as Secretary/Treasurer was elected Vice President. Jason McConnachie (Deckerville) was elected to fill the Secretary/Treasurer position.

"Scott Lonier has been and will continue to be an excellent advocate for Michigan's corn growers, and we're thankful for the leadership and dedication he brought to the position of president," said Jim Zook, executive director of the MCGA. "We're lucky to have someone like Alvin to step into the role and I know he will be a strong voice for our sector moving forward."

The MCGA board also took a moment to recognize outgoing chairman Jeff Sandborn (Portland) for his years of service to the MCGA board and to the state's corn growers. Sandborn is a past president of the MCGA and currently serves as chairman of the ethanol committee for the National Corn Growers Association.

Governor Rick Snyder recently made his appointments to the Corn Marketing Program of Michigan board of directors.Blaine Baker (Clayton), John Burk (Bay City) and Randall Poll (Hamilton) were all reappointed to serve on the board.

"Blain, John and Randall have done a fantastic job leading the Corn Marketing Program as we pursue our mission of marketing and promoting corn and corn products," said Jim Zook, executive director of the CMPM. "Their reappointments are a testament to their track records of outstanding work on behalf of Michigan's corn farmers. We're glad to have them on the board for another term."

The CMPM board is made up of nine directors, each appointed for a three year term.