Skip to main content

Indiana Farm Bureau elects new president, vice president

INDIANAPOLIS -- Randy Kron of Vanderburgh County was elected president of Indiana Farm Bureau during the closing minutes of INFB's state convention.

When he takes office Jan. 1, he will be the ninth president in the history of Indiana Farm Bureau, which is Indiana's largest general farm organization.

Kron currently serves as INFB vice president. Elected to succeed him as vice president was Kendell Culp of Jasper County.

Don Villwock of Knox County is the current president, having served in that position for 14 years. However, he announced this summer that he would not seek another term.

"INFB elected a great team of new officers today," he said. He added special words of praise for Kron, who has served as his vice president for his entire 14 years as president.

"He has the experience and a deep passion for serving agriculture and Farm Bureau members," he said.

Kron farms with his wife and son near Evansville, raising primarily corn, soybeans and wheat. A 1983 graduate of Purdue University, he holds a bachelor's degree in agricultural economics. He has held numerous leadership positions, including as INFB's representative on the U.S. Grains Council and on the Indiana Corn Marketing Council. He is also past president of the county extension board, and he serves as his township's trustee/assessor.

He said one of his priorities as president is farmers "working together with a unified voice." His first priority, he said, will be strengthening county Farm Bureaus.

"The foundation is strong county Farm Bureaus," he said.

Culp farms with his wife, parents, son and daughter near Rensselaer, raising grain and hogs. He served as District 3 director on the Indiana Farm Bureau board for 12 years (the maximum number of years a district director can serve). He currently serves as a director for Farm Credit Mid-America, as Jasper County commissioner, and as a member of the board of directors for the Indiana Soybean Alliance.