MCGA awards 2016 scholarships

Farmers Advance

LANSING, MI -- The Michigan Corn Growers Association (MCGA) announced recently that 11 students have been chosen to receive the 2016 MCGA scholarship. This year’s awardees included three high school students and eight college students, receiving a total of $10,000 in scholarships.

“We received many outstanding applications from bright students across the state this year,” said Penni Sweeney, membership coordinator for the MCGA. “We know that these young people will be an asset to Michigan’s agriculture industry and we’re excited to watch their careers develop. The Michigan Corn Growers Association is proud of the work we do to support our members as they pursue higher education.”

The 2016 high school recipients are: Jennifer Gentner – Minden City; James Parker – Marlette; and Cassidy Polzin – Saline.

The 2016 college recipients are: Clay Daily – Mayville; Alycia Drwencke – Adrian; Erica Gremel – Sebawing; Madison Heath – Milan; Olivia Hoffman – Marshall; Erin Lauwers – Capac; Amber Pickard – Hastings; and Katelyn Walters – Burr Oak.

The MCGA scholarship is awarded annually. The MCGA has awarded more than $80,000 in scholarships since the program was established in 2007.

The scholarship is open to MCGA members and children of MCGA members, including grower, student and associate members. More information about the MCGA scholarship program is available online at