Skip to main content

Indiana FFA hosts 89th state convention

INDIANAPOLIS -- On June 19, Indiana’s finest students in agriculture converged for the 89th Indiana FFA State Convention. The three day event featured a trade show, traditional FFA awards in various aspects of agriculture, state officer’s retiring addresses, and a presentation from the National FFA President Breanna Holbert.
The pre-convention activities began on Monday, June 18, with numerous Career Development Event (CDE) registrations and finished with a Chapter Fun Night.
The first general session began Tuesday evening with an opening celebration and ceremonies along with a greeting from Indiana’s Lt. Governor. 
Wyatt Law, State SRVP, kicked off the retiring addresses by presenting his during this session. The keynote speaker was Josh Sunquist.
Wednesday started bright and early with the trade show opening and the second session convening. 
A talent presentation was offered twice within the session and CDE Recognition was presented. The speakers for this session were the National FFA President Breanna Holbert and Cole Pearson, State Treasurer, gave his retiring address.
The third session was dedicated to honoring those FFA members who have excelled with their Supervised Agricultural Experiences (SAE) and were recognized with proficiency awards. State Secretary Emily Kilmer delivered her retiring address.
The fourth session was held on Wednesday evening and was renamed Hoosier Degree Session. Grant Sanchez, State Sentinel, gave his retiring address. Much of the time was spent honoring the Star finalists, naming the winners, and presenting the State FFA Degrees. The State Chorus performed for the attendees.
Thursday hosted the final day’s activities. The fifth session recognized the various “Living to Serve...Initiatives” with different focuses on safety, community, and hunger. The AgriScience participants were honored and the band performed. 
Two of the state officers shared their retiring addresses: State NRVP Owen Coon and State Reporter Natalie Taylor. Awards were handed out for excellence in Leadership Development Events.
The sixth and final session featured State President Claire Baney’s retiring address along with recognition for the team. The new Indiana State FFA Team was selected and installed during the session. The convention closed with a video containing highlights from the convention.
Farmers’ Advance wants to congratulate Indiana State FFA for celebrating 89 years of serving the young people of the state!