Skip to main content

GreenStone elects directors to serve rural communities

EAST LANSING, MI – The members of GreenStone Farm Credit Services have elected four individuals to the cooperative’s board of directors, including two new board members: Michael Timmer and Jed Welder.
Michael Timmer, Allegan County, was elected to a four-year term on the board representing the members in the association’s Region 4. 
He operates a diversified farming business raising replacement heifers and growing corn, soybeans, alfalfa and wheat.  
“I have been involved in agriculture for over 26 years and know the importance of having a financial institution that understands agriculture like GreenStone Farm Credit Services,” Timmer says. 
“GreenStone has been with my family’s business through many changes, so I have seen firsthand the importance of having a lender who understands your business and helps you reach your goals.”
Timmer replaces retiring board member Darl Evers.
Jed Welder, Montcalm County, was elected to a four-year term representing members in the association’s Region 5.  Welder and his family operate Trinity Farms, a cash crop farm raising corn, soybeans and oats along with a custom harvesting business. 
“My wife and I are proud to be associated with GreenStone,” Welder says. 
“In my experience, this group’s vision for agriculture and concern for its members set it apart. 
"I look forward to giving back to a group that assisted me in getting my start. As one of the only veteran farmers in my area, I believe I can be an advocate for Farm Credit Services members transitioning from their military service to both farming and rural living.”
Welder replaces Christine Crumbaugh who transitioned to the AgriBank board of directors.
The two incumbents re-elected to four-year terms include: 
• Region 4: Edward Reed, Cass County 
• Region 5: Aaron (Andy) Snider, Oceana County 
Additionally, GreenStone’s members elected 16 individuals to serve on the cooperative’s 2018 nominating committee. The nominating committee is comprised of GreenStone members from throughout the organization’s territory who are tasked with recruiting candidates for the next year’s board elections and nominating committee. The 2018 nominating committee includes: 
Region 1: Eugene Meylan, Bay County; Donald Morse, Saginaw County; Region 2: Richard Lauwers, Lapeer County; Ryan Ruggles, Sanilac County; Region 3: Roger Pitts, Hillsdale County; William Uphaus, Washtenaw County; Region 4: Edward Kretchman, Jr., Berrien County; Dale Robson, Berrien County; Region 5: Abraham Pasch, Isabella County; Brent Skinner, Gratiot County; Region 6: Duane Bowns, Shiawassee County; Matthew Keilen, Clinton County, Leroy Schafer, Clinton County; Region 7: Todd Augustian, Kewaunee County; Beverly Wolf, Oconto County; Jamie Zeamer, Brown County.