Skip to main content

Growers appointed to NCGA action teams

LANSING, MI -- The National Corn Growers Association announced the slate of new and returning farmer leaders who will serve as members of the organization’s action teams and committees for the next fiscal year, which began Monday, October 1. Four representatives from the Michigan Corn Growers Association (MCGA) were selected for various teams. As representatives of 300,000 American family corn farmers, these volunteers will guide NCGA programs to meet the organization’s short-term strategic goals in order to ultimately fulfill NCGA’s vision for U.S. corn: to sustainably feed and fuel a growing world.
MCGA members appointed or reappointed to action teams include:
• Allyson Maxwell (Hope, MI) – Consumer Engagement Action Team
• Russell Braun (Ovid, MI) – Ethanol Action Team
• Jeff Sandborn (Portland, MI) – Liaison for the Corn Productivity and Quality Action Team
• Penni Sweeney (Dewitt, MI) – Engaging Members Committee
“Having dedicated farmers and staff from Michigan helping to set the priorities and policies for the National Corn Growers Association ensures that the needs of Michigan farmers are heard and addressed at the highest levels,” said Jim Zook, executive director of MCGA. “These four individuals will be excellent representatives for Michigan’s corn industry and we thank them for their willingness to serve on behalf of Michigan farmers.” 
Click here for a full list of teams and members. The FY 2019 action teams and committees will have their first set of meetings in St. Louis in mid-December.