Skip to main content

2020 Michigan Soybean Association yield contest winners announced

FRANKENMUTH, MI. – The Michigan Soybean Association (MSA) is excited to announce the winners of the 2020 Soybean Yield Contest. 2020 is the first year MSA has facilitated the contest. It was facilitated for 14 years prior by the Michigan Soybean Promotion Committee (MSPC).

This year there were 58 entries from soybean farmers in 14 different counties in Michigan. Winners were announced Wednesday, December 16, 2020 during MSA’s 47th Annual Meeting of Members.

The contest was sponsored by MSPC, Asgrow, Dairyland Seed, Dyna Gro, Golden Harvest, Pioneer Seed, LG Seed, Mycogen, DF Seeds, Credenz and Rupp Seeds.

Congratulations to the 2020 category winners.

Late Maturity Non-Irrigated Don Stall of Eaton County    134.75 bu/a

Late Maturity Irrigated Randy Cuthbert of Cass County 93.85 bu/a

Mid Maturity Non-Irrigated David Eickholt of Saginaw County 97.15 bu/a

Mid Maturity Irrigated Ron Hoeksma of Barry County 85.90 bu/a

Early Maturity Steve Koroleski of Huron County 72.44 bu/a

Non-GMO Luke Gentz of St. Joseph County 94.61 bu/a

Don Stall’s winning entry in the Late Maturity Non-Irrigated category (134.75 bushels per acre) is also the highest yield ever entered in the contest. Congratulations to Don on this outstanding achievement!

The winners will each receive a plaque and a $1,000 cash prize.